
Forward Industries (Nasdaq: FWDI) has agreed to sell 3,125,000 shares of common stock to an institutional investor at $8 per share in a registered direct offering expected to generate about $25 million in gross proceeds. The company said it plans to use the net proceeds, after placement-agent fees and other estimated expenses, to buy additional SOL for its Solana-focused treasury.
The offering is expected to close on or about September 24, 2026, subject to customary closing conditions. A.G.P./Alliance Global Partners is serving as sole placement agent. Because the shares have not yet closed, the $25 million figure is a gross-proceeds target rather than cash already received. The amount ultimately available for SOL purchases will be lower after costs, and Forward has not disclosed the price or timing at which it expects to acquire the additional tokens.
Forward is using a registered direct offering rather than an open-market sale
The financing is structured as a registered direct offering with a single institutional investor. Forward has entered into a securities purchase agreement for a fixed number of shares at a fixed price, rather than relying on gradual open-market sales under an at-the-market program.
The shares are being offered under Forward’s automatic shelf registration statement on Form S-3ASR, file No. 333-290312. The SEC registration statement became effective in September 2025 and provides a framework for registered common-stock offerings. Forward said a prospectus supplement covering the new $25 million sale will be filed with the SEC.
At $8 per share, the 3.125 million-share sale produces exactly $25 million before fees and other offering expenses. Management said the proceeds are intended to increase the absolute size of the company’s SOL treasury while supporting its focus on SOL per fully diluted share, a metric Forward uses to track how much Solana exposure sits behind each share after potentially dilutive securities are taken into account.
The distinction matters because the offering adds common shares at the same time that it adds capital. Existing holders will own a smaller percentage of the company after new shares are issued, all else equal. Whether the financing improves Forward’s SOL-per-share measure will depend on how much SOL it ultimately acquires, the purchase price, and changes in the fully diluted share count. The company has stated that increasing SOL per share is an objective, but the announcement does not establish the eventual outcome.
Forward already holds about 7.8 million SOL and equivalents
Forward’s Solana strategy began in September 2025, when it announced a large private placement and started building a digital-asset treasury centered on SOL. Its initial liquid purchases totaled 6.822 million SOL at an average price of $232 per token, or roughly $1.58 billion in aggregate, according to company filings.
By June 30, 2026, Forward reported 7,552,698 SOL and SOL equivalents. The position rose further to 7,807,022 as of August 3, according to the company’s SOL treasury dashboard. Forward also reported 0.0754 SOL per fully diluted share as of that date. The company described the August 3 figures as preliminary and unaudited.
That growth has come from both purchases and staking. During the fiscal third quarter ended June 30, Forward said it added 508,618 SOL through purchases and staking, while generating about 106,000 SOL in staking rewards during the quarter. From July 1 through August 3, the company added another roughly 254,000 SOL and SOL equivalents at an average cost of about $75 per SOL.
The new $25 million offering is therefore small compared with the capital Forward deployed when it launched the strategy, but it continues the same balance-sheet approach of using equity capital to expand the crypto treasury. Forward also established a $4 billion at-the-market equity program in September 2025, giving it another mechanism to sell common stock over time. The registered direct offering announced Wednesday is a separate, fixed-price financing.
More SOL also means more exposure to crypto volatility
Forward’s regulatory filings make clear that concentrating its treasury in SOL carries risks alongside the potential upside. The company has described SOL as highly speculative and volatile and has warned that a substantial decline in the token’s price could materially affect both its financial results and the market price of its common stock. A treasury that becomes larger through the new offering will deepen that exposure rather than diversify it.
The company also stakes much of its SOL, which can generate token rewards but adds operational and network-related risks. Forward has said its strategy can include direct token purchases, staking, lending, decentralized-finance activity and investments tied to the Solana ecosystem. Those activities make the treasury more active than a simple buy-and-hold reserve, but they also mean investors need to look beyond the number of tokens held when assessing changes in risk and per-share value.
For shareholders, the immediate variables are straightforward. Forward is issuing 3.125 million new common shares, it expects to receive less than $25 million after offering costs, and it plans to deploy the net proceeds into additional SOL. The company has not disclosed how many tokens it expects to buy or the price at which purchases will occur. That leaves the eventual effect on SOL per fully diluted share dependent on market prices and execution rather than on the headline proceeds alone.
The next scheduled milestone is the expected September 24 closing, assuming customary conditions are satisfied. After that, the prospectus supplement and subsequent treasury disclosures should provide the clearest record of the final offering economics and how much additional SOL Forward actually adds.
Latest News
View all news- Fed’s Barr Says Further Rate Adjustments Likely as Inflation Risks Rise
- Cracker Barrel Ends Fiscal 2026 With Lower Sales, Sets 2027 Outlook
- Bullish and Marex Partner to Expand Institutional Digital-Asset Access
- Beneficient Unveils Strategy to Challenge Former CEO-Linked Debt and Equity Claims
- Espey Fiscal 2026 Profit Rises as Sales Reach $46.1 Million