
Northern Trust has been appointed to service the Warwickshire Pension Fund, a UK Local Government Pension Scheme fund with approximately £3.6 billion in pension assets. The mandate covers global custody, valuation reporting, capital-call execution and performance measurement, according to Northern Trust’s September 7 announcement. That £3.6 billion figure describes the pension fund’s asset base, not a disclosed contract value or an investment-management allocation.
Several of the operational functions surrounding Warwickshire’s investment portfolio will move under the new mandate. Custody covers the safekeeping and recordkeeping of assets, while valuation and performance reporting give the administering authority data it can use to monitor the portfolio. Capital-call execution is especially relevant for private-market funds, where investors commit capital that is drawn over time rather than invested all at once.
Warwickshire County Council administers the fund. Its latest 2025/26 pension-fund accounts, which remain unaudited, reported £3.4346 billion of net assets at March 31, 2026, up from £3.0951 billion a year earlier. Northern Trust’s roughly £3.6 billion figure therefore represents a more recent estimate of the fund’s scale rather than the value of the servicing agreement itself.
Mandate spans custody, valuations and private-market operations
Warwickshire appointed Northern Trust to provide four core services: global custody, valuation reporting, capital-call execution and performance measurement. Northern Trust said it will bring custody data, reporting and performance information together as the fund’s requirements evolve. Financial terms, contract duration and the service-start date were not disclosed.
Warwickshire’s portfolio includes substantial exposures outside listed public markets. At March 31, the fund reported £362.6 million in infrastructure, £230.0 million in private equity, £177.9 million in private debt and £256.0 million in pooled property. Its accounts also identified £919.8 million of Level 3 investments, where valuations rely more heavily on estimates and unobservable inputs than exchange-traded securities.
Those holdings create additional operational work around valuations, cash movements and funding notices. Capital-call execution, for example, helps an asset owner process requests from private-equity, infrastructure and other private-market managers when committed money becomes due. Performance measurement provides a common framework for assessing returns across assets that may be reported on different schedules and valuation bases.
Warwickshire’s current governance page still lists Bank of New York Mellon as the fund’s global custodian. Northern Trust’s appointment therefore appears set to change at least part of the custody arrangement, but the materials inspected do not establish when that handover will occur or whether there will be a transition period. The September 7 announcement also did not specify whether every existing custody function will move at the same time.
Warwickshire fund has grown beyond £3.4 billion
The latest accounts show the scale of the pension operation behind the mandate. Warwickshire reported 60,601 members at March 31, including 19,389 active employees, 19,763 pensioners and 21,449 deferred members. There were 252 employer organisations with active members, including Warwickshire County Council and other scheduled and admitted bodies.
For the 2025/26 financial year, contributions totaled £121.5 million and benefits payable were £120.5 million. Net investment return was £353.0 million, and closing net assets rose by £339.5 million during the year to £3.4346 billion. Total net investments were £3.4306 billion, including £1.3538 billion of pooled global equity and £955.4 million of pooled fixed income.
Management expenses came to £23.8 million, of which £19.4 million related to investment management. Custody fees under the existing arrangements were reported at £0.1 million for the year. That accounting figure is not the price of the Northern Trust mandate, which has not been disclosed, but it reinforces the distinction between the value of assets being serviced and the fee paid to the service provider.
Warwickshire is part of the Border to Coast Pensions Partnership. Northern Trust said the fund is now one of 18 partner funds in the pool. Pooling changes who manages increasing portions of LGPS assets, but administering authorities still need custody records, valuation data and performance information for oversight, reporting and cash management.
Appointment comes as LGPS operating models change
Northern Trust framed the appointment against the UK government’s Fit for the Future reforms for the Local Government Pension Scheme in England and Wales. The reforms are designed to strengthen pooling, local investment and fund governance. A government technical response published in May said the new pooling and governance regulations would come into force on June 30, 2026, putting the policy changes into effect shortly before the Warwickshire mandate was announced.
The timing is relevant because LGPS funds are being asked to work more closely with their pools while maintaining governance responsibilities as administering authorities. Consistent data across custody, pooled investments and private markets can support that oversight. Northern Trust said Warwickshire sought a provider with the expertise and operating model to support its long-term objectives, while Ian Hamilton, the firm’s head of asset owners for Europe, the Middle East and Africa, described the sector as being in a period of meaningful change.
For Northern Trust, Warwickshire adds another institutional asset-owner mandate to a large global servicing platform. The company’s official media resources reported $20.0 trillion of assets under custody or administration and $2.0 trillion of assets under management as of June 30, 2026. It also reported $15.9 trillion of assets under custody, underscoring the scale of its asset-servicing business relative to this individual mandate.
The September 7 announcement left the service-start date open, and Warwickshire’s public governance page had not yet been updated to reflect the new provider at the time of review. Separately, the fund’s 2025/26 accounts remain in draft form and are due to complete the audit and approval process before final publication.
Latest News
View all news- Austin-Based Formentera Partners Begins First-Ever Commercial Gas Sales From Australia’s Beetaloo Basin
- BioRestorative Therapies’ 1-for-20 Reverse Stock Split Set to Take Effect
- TotalEnergies Cuts Papua LNG Cost to About $14 Billion and Hands Operatorship to ExxonMobil
- Portillo’s Kevin Kalicak Takes Over as CFO With $825,000 Inducement Award
- Six Flags Launches Flex Pay Installment Financing for Season Passes